DO NOT DRINK AND DRIVE IN LAS VEGAS.
It is never acceptable, or worth it, to drink and drive in Las Vegas, especially when it is so easy to get around by taxi, limo, Uber, or Lyft.
The State of Nevada prohibits driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above. The .08 BAC standard is the measurement used across the United States for an “impaired” driver. Nevada has lower limits for drivers under the age of 21 and commercial drivers.
It is difficult to determine the exact number of drinks for a driver to reach the .08 limit. Each person’s physical characteristics such as weight, sex, and body type play a role in the BAC equation. Additionally, the type of alcoholic beverage, the length of time between drinks, and other factors such as whether you have eaten will affect your BAC. As such, the best rule of thumb is simply not to drink and drive in Las Vegas.
Your first drunk driving conviction in Nevada will cost you between $400 and $1,000. You may go to jail for up to 6 months and be required to perform community service. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. After 45 days of your driver’s license suspension, the court may allow you to drive with a restricted license for the remainder of your sentence. You will also be ordered to attend a DUI school at your own expense and may also be ordered to attend an alcohol treatment program if your BAC was .08 or above. The penalties for a second or third offense get substantially harsher.