MARRIAGE

Getting Hitched In Las Vegas Is Easy

To legally get married in Las Vegas, please keep in mind the following:

  1. Requirements for U.S. citizens and non-U.S. citizens are the same, regardless of gender.
  2. Obtain a marriage license from the Clerk at a Clark County Marriage Bureau location (both individuals getting married must be present);
  3. Be over 18 years old and no nearer of kin than second cousins or cousins of half-blood, and not be married to someone else;
  4. Nevada marriage licenses are only valid within the State of Nevada.  Marriage ceremonies must be conducted within Nevada’s borders and may not be conducted within another state or country;
  5. You will need to provide identification to prove both your name and age when obtaining a marriage license.
  6. No blood test is required.
  7. Nevada does not have a waiting period to marry.  Couples may marry immediately after obtaining their marriage license.  The license is good for 1 year from date of issue.
  8. Have a ceremony held by someone licensed by the County; and
  9. Whoever performs your marriage ceremony has 10 days to file the Marriage Certificate with Clark County.  Once the certificate has been filed, you can order a copy online from the Clark County Recorder’s Office (marriages are public record in Clark County, Nevada).
For additional information, please go to the Clark County Marriage License webpage.

Marriage Regret

If you are filled with regret about your recent Las Vegas wedding, you may want to have it annulled.

Nevada law considers a marriage a civil contract and a local lawyer can assist you with evaluating whether an annulment is a viable option.

Some of the grounds for an annulment include:

  1. A spouse was incapable of consenting to the marriage because of a lack of understanding resulting from factors such as intoxication, mental disability or insanity;
  2. A spouse consented to the marriage on the basis of fraud, such as the other spouse’s concealment of a secret, such as an intent not to have children; or
  3. other contractual failures such as mutual mistake, duress or undue influence.

If you are unable to have your marriage annulled – don’t worry! Nevada is a no-fault state for divorce, which means you can get divorced for any reason. A divorce, however, may take more time to complete and could be costlier than an annulment.

If you need a family law or divorce lawyer give Tourist Lawyers a call today.

Get in touch

Please note that the information contained on this website shall not constitute legal advice and is intended only to provide general information. Use of this website shall not constitute an attorney-client, confidential or other privileged relationship with TouristLawyers.com. TouristLawyers.com is primarily a legal referral service and not principally a law firm. This webpage is not intended to be an advertisement or solicitation.

Copyright 2021 – TLIP Ventures, LLC d/b/a Tourist Lawyers, 10161 Park Run Drive, Suite 150, Las Vegas, Nevada 89145

Christopher D. Kircher, Esq., licensed to practice law only in the State of Nevada